This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts



New Soft Idiot LP Available for Streaming & Purchase

In the Long Light of the Failing Sun (Cicada Choir), the new album from Justin Roth-led Soft Idiot, officially arrived today. Introspective, evaluating folk exuberantly springs forward. Gently swaying or dashing in an energetic rush, there’s a reassuring honesty. Soft Idiot will be co-hosting a dual record release show with Screamcloud on Friday, February 8 at The Conservatory, where they'll be supported by Dan Clifford and High Noon.

Jaymay, Desert Stars, Tom Shaner and Dan Lipton featured in Orion Pictures soundtrack released by Mother West

“Both music and movies tell stories and when they come together to tell the same one, something magical happens” says All These Small Moments writer/director Melissa Miller Costanzo. “I used to love running out to buy the soundtrack to my favorite movies so I could relive the film over and over.  I could imagine the images that danced across the screen while a certain song was playing.  I hope the songs we’ve chosen here, along with the songs we’ve written, and the score we’ve created will take the viewer back again and again to a place where they felt something real”.

When embarking on the soundtrack for her debut film, Melissa plucked NYC composer Dan Lipton from the theater world (conductor of The Band’s Visit and The Last Ship by Sting on Broadway) to write an original score that would breathe additional life into the characters. Shortly thereafter, she recruited music producer Charles Newman (The Magnetic Fields, The Bones of J.R Jones) to handle the music supervision and help find the perfect source music to not only compliment the story but to help shape it.  What ensued was a partnership between Miller and Newman taking them on a collaborative journey of the senses. The result was an indie pop rock retro-americana mashup, with a dash of 80’s and shoegaze thrown in for good measure. 

From the downbeat of the opening song “My Love Will Bring You Back” by Slow Runner (feat. Michael Flynn) the ear candy begins. Other featured tracks include Vermont troubadour Kris’s Gruen’s “Coming Down Around Me” which was co-penned by Miller- Costanzo for the film, Los Angeles’s Aloud contributes their 60’s inspired Beatlesque duet “Jeanne, It’s Just a Ride!” and NYC’s Tom Shaner contributes “Joe’s Airfield”. Other moments in the film are underscored by the Americana tones of Jaymay and Canadian darlings Birds of Bellwoods, while North Carolina’s Echo Courts and Jean-Luc add a healthy dose of garage rock and lounge vibes alongside New York City’s retro J-Pop group Gaijin à Go-Go. Lastly, David Sisko’s remix of the Cold Blood Club’s 2012 song “Down”, and Brooklyn’s Desert Stars add a modern sheen of 80’s electronica and lush shoegazey moments.

Dan Lipton’s indie folk score which is represented by 12 tracks on the album, was recorded live at Brooklyn’s Strange Weather studios with Lipton on piano, wurlitzer, mellotron, and an array of kalimbas and other accoutrements. The score features NYC musicians Mason Ingram (Cyndi Lauper, Bibi Bourelly) on drums and percussion, Logan Coale (Natalie Merchant, The National) on upright bass and Erik Della Penna (Joan Baez, Kill Henry Sugar) on guitars and mandolins.

The soundtrack album is being released on January 18th, the same day the film becomes available on demand.

Birds of Bellwoods song “The Fifth” featured in Orion Pictures film "All These Small Moments"

Toronto based alt rock outfit Birds of Bellwoods have wasted little time making an indelible mark on Canada’s musical landscape, having amassed an impressive pile of achievements and accolades in a few short years on the back of their boisterous blend of anthemic alternative, folk, and pop music.  After getting their 2015 EP “The Fifth” into the hands of All These Small Moments producer Lauren Avinoam, it’s title track made it’s way to the ears of director Melissa Miller-Costanzo who found it’s fervent energy a perfect fit for her film.  

The soundtrack album is being released on Brooklyn’s Mother West label on January 18th, the same day the film becomes available on demand.

Kris Gruen song “Coming Down Around Me” featured in Orion Pictures film "All These Small Moments"

A New York City native who’s put down roots in Vermont over two decades ago, Kris effortlessly blends sagacious wit and emotional depth in his songwriting. “Coming Down Around Me’ off his 2018 album Coast & Refuge was co-written with director Melissa Miller-Costanzo who also directed the music video for the song which will be released later this month. Melissa says of the song “It perfectly envelopes the characters in a swath of poetry and a twang of seduction." The soundtrack album is being released on Brooklyn’s Mother West label on January 18th, the same day the film becomes available on demand.

Mentalease "Push A Button"

Mentalease released their first EP, “Push A Button”, since 2014 today. This is the fuzzy and warped shoegaze of Spencer Harris, Wesley Hunt, and Daniel Martinson.

You can catch Mentalease at The Burlington tonight, January 17th, with Forest Management, Esper Werm, and Eric Mewmiller.


- news for musician and music pros -