This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts



National Site

Ahab Rex "January Eyes"

Ahab Rex is back and has enlisted some help from several talented friends for his new album January Eyes. For this project he has enlisted Ivan Russia of Mr. Russia, Chris Connelly, Robert Hyman of [melter] & TH Inc, Sam Vicari, Brooke Cassell, Right-Eye Rita, and many more.

The album’s lead single is called “Distorted Flowers and is accompanied by the video below. Rex has a unique vocal style that may take a minute to acclimate to, but is rewarding and nostalgic. It is a low gravely whisper in the vain of Tom Waits, but in the softer side of that sounds.

The album is cinematic in a film noir sense of theater and performance, and is captivating from start to finish.


New Track: "Blue In The Face" - Bridge Underwater

It's been more than a minute since we've heard from Philly indie popster(s) Bridge Underwater - about three years in fact. Bringing in a glimmer of sunshine on this overcast day, the lighthearted "Blue In The Face" is providing a much-needed bounce in our step. Its the lead single off Bridge Underwater's forthcoming self-titled album, due out on February 8. Enjoy!

Starchild & The New Romantic brings soul pop to Elsewhere on Valentine's Day

Whether you’re getting ahead on Valentine’s Day plans or dreading its approach, it’ll be well worth it for you to make it down to Elsewhere the night of the 14th to check out Starchild & The New Romantic. Drawing on the grooves of artists like Prince and Outkast, Starchild (otherwise known as Bryndon Cook) gracefully balances vibrant earnestness and downright addictive electro funk, making even heartbreak sound fun. Cook established himself touring with Solange and working with Blood Orange, but with last year’s debut album Language, it’s clear that Starchild deserves a stage of his own. Check out Language on Starchild & The New Romantic’s Bandcamp, and don’t miss the upcoming Brooklyn show, date or no date. - Sunny Betz

Bird Streets takes their folky pop to the west coast

There's no right or wrong approach to songwriting: some artists find their voice in bizarre arrangements or completely wild chord progression, while others make energy or tension or even just powerful lyrics their trademark. However, there's only one way to write rock music with mainstream potential that sounds timeless and honest, and pulling it off is not easy feat: it consists in finding a fine balance between melody, tension, character, meaning and relatability that few artists are able to strike (Tom Petty and The Cars are among our favorites). The music of Bird Streets - the solo project of Brooklyn's John Brodeur - features these qualities. The project released the self-titled debut album this past August and was named NPR's 2018 slingshot artist shortly thereafter. Brodeur will leave NYC for a short west coast tour at the end of January, keep an ear on him


Sportsfan - "Jean Jacket Rock" hittin' Horseshoe 01.12

Sportsfan call themselves “jean jacket rock” which means I have to listen to ‘em immediately. Their latest release was a 3 song EP titled “Holy Hell”. These tracks are solid rock n roll tunes reminiscent of American heartland rock such as Tom Petty or Mellancamp but with a more current indie-pop attitude. A good mix of jangle and fuzz. They will be supporting Fade Awaays at their EP Release Party on January 12th at the Horseshoe Tavern along with Maybelleen and Lovers Touch. – Kris Gies


- news for musician and music pros -